Mr Bunnsy has an adventure

Terry Pratchett wrote a story within a story. It’s a story about stepping out of the comfort zone, driven by a need – there’s hunger, a thirst for more. It’s about the gaps, the holes, the curiosities that need to be filled. Boundaries will be crossed. But it’s not all quite that simple.

It’s a child’s story. And it resonates to the child within me. I want to explore. I want an adventure, to learn and grow with the experiences that cross my path – all because I am searching for something that I don’t quite know how to explain.

And so follows the 12 chapters of Mr Bunnsy. I would recommend reading The Amazing Maurice for the full story..

“One day, when he was naughty, Mr Bunnsy looked over the hedge into Farmer Fred’s field and it was full of fresh green lettuces. Mr Bunnsy, however, was not full of lettuces. This did not seem fair.

Mr Bunnsy had a lot of friends in Furry Bottom. But what Mr Bunnsy was friendly with more than anything else was food.

“Never go into the Dark Wood, my friend,” said Ratty Rupert. “There are bad things in there.”

The important thing about adventures, thought Mr Bunnsy, was that they shouldn’t be so long as to make you miss mealtimes.

Ratty Rupert was the bravest rat that ever was. Everyone in Furry Bottom said so.

There were big adventures and small adventures, Mr Bunnsy knew. You didn’t get told what size they were going to be before you started. Sometimes you could have a big adventure even when you were standing still.

And because of Olly the Snake’s trick with the road sign, Mr Bunnsy did not know that he had lost his way. He wasn’t going to Howard the Stoat’s tea party. He was heading into the Dark Wood.

Mr Bunnsy realized that he was a fat rabbit in the Dark Wood and wished he wasn’t a rabbit or, at least, not a fat one. But Ratty Rupert was on the way. Little did he know what was waiting for him.

Farmer Fred opened his door and saw all the animals of Furry Bottom waiting for him. “We can’t find Mr Bunnsy or Ratty Rupert!” they cried.

And as night fell, Mr Bunnsy remembered: there’s something terrible in the Dark Wood.

And there he found Mr Bunnsy, tangled in the brambles and his blue coat all torn.

“Well done, Ratty Rupert!” cried the animals of Furry Bottom.

-From Mr Bunnsy has an adventure (The Amazing Maurice by Terry Pratchett)

Thats me, the rabbit, scared and shaking at my own shadows.  I also know some wonderfully special people who i count as friends, who i know will come find me if i end up lost in my darkness.  But i gotta go in there to find myself, you know?

Leave a comment